Wyatt

Exhaustion from being present?

8 posts in this topic

I just finished reading the Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle, and if you haven’t yet, it’s a must. He makes an incredible case for Being, Presence, and silencing thoughts unless they’re necessary. Very powerful meditation techniques.

This past week I’ve been practicing his teachings and trying to be extremely present for a couple hours everyday, focusing all of my senses and my mind into the present moment while sitting. I’ve also been trying to incorporate presence into my work, which I can see will add tons of value for me and my clients.

For the past 3 days, I’ve been EXTREMELY exhausted. I’m a personal trainer, take good care of my health, and am often described as someone with lots of energy. But, these few days have been awful. I don’t want to get out of bed, don’t want to work or hangout with friends, get frustrated at doing small tasks, and have very strong negative self talk.

Can practicing presence really be the cause of this? I thought Being and Presence were supposed to be rejuvinating and bring peace? Did I just overdo it, like an inexperienced athlete lifting weights for hours everyday?

Thanks!

@Wyatt   Maybe thats ego backlash?  Maybe your presence is bringing stuff out of your subconscious to get purified.

Staying present can be hard at first.  You get tired of it and want to just go unconscious.  But after a while it flips and you feel bad when you arent present and stay on it all the time.

@Wyatt no don’t give up until it becomes a habit..any habit is easy to start but after the initial few days the mind tricks you to go back to your old ways...if you feel low, say to yourself this will change soon and it will in a matter of time. I read the book and it was so wonderfully articulated and it did have a deep impact on me. 

Remember one thing “reading becomes useless without practice”